SAL Update: Seashells #13

August 27, 2017 at 6:34 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 17 Comments
Tags: ,

We’re really getting somewhere today!

This is how it looked last time:

Seashells 2017-07-23

I finished the silk embroidery soon after that photo was taken, so here it is:

Seashells - Silk Embroidery Finished

And then it was on to adding all the bling using actual gold embroidery!

Here’s where I got to today:

Seashells 2017-08-27

The little shell on the left got some stitches in thin gold thread, this is pretty much invisible in the picture but gives a very understated sparkle in reality. The two  shells in the foreground are a different matter – they’re completely transformed by the goldwork. I’m currently tackling the big shell and am hoping this won’t take as long as the silk embroidery.

I’m very motivated to get this finished soon, since yesterday my next SAL project arrived in the mail! Inspired by Steph’s Big G project I ended up on Etsy looking at the other patterns this vendor sells, and oh my! I totally fell in love with this huge bookshelf, but after some deliberation I decided to go for one of the smaller kits first to test the waters. There’s so many beautiful patterns in different artistic styles on that site that I had a hard time deciding, and finally settled on Green Iguana. Isn’t he pretty? I’m looking forward to working on that one, but first I need to finish my seashells.

Here are the other members of the SAL who are posting today. Make sure to check out their work, it’s amazing: Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Lucy, Jess, Sue, Kate, Debbie Rose, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Steph, Linda, Catherine, Mary Margaret, Timothy, Heidi and Connie.

If you would like to join in please contact Avis, who will give you full details.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow what a difference the gold works makes. It is looking really good.
    Have a new project to look forward to is always a great motivator.

  2. The gold really makes the shells stand out. Beautiful work. I love the lizard. Can’t wait to see progress on him.

  3. oh yes! such a lot of progress since last time.
    And I love your choice for your next project!

  4. I had no idea there was more to add. The goldwork is beautiful! I love both the bookshelf and the iguana. Great choices!

  5. Starting to look fantastic now

  6. That gold work really makes a huge difference, WOW! And seeing Mr. IGuana, no wonder you are motivated to finish up!

  7. The goldwork really does transform it! What happens with the seaweed on the left? Is that just outlined, or filled with stitching?
    I do love that bookshelf, but can you *imagine* how long it would take? The iguana is a great choice!

    • The seaweed will be a different kind of gold thread couched down, all shiny!

      • Wow! Can’t wait!

  8. Wow, you’ve made some great progress! I had no idea there would be this much glitzy detail. It’s turning out beautiful. That shop does have some very unique patterns, I’ll have to check it out!

  9. The blind really made everything pop! Beautiful!

  10. i remember doing gold-work in school. it really has changed the entire look of the piece. it is beautiful!

  11. Oh my, how incredible does it look with the goldwork! Such an elegant touch. You are very well behaved saying you will finish this before starting the next one 😊

  12. Wow! It looks stunning with the goldwork…and it looked amazing before!!

  13. It always amazes me when one thread can make such difference on a embroidery! Your embroidery is now looking gorgeous!

  14. The gold threads are really gorgeous! This project is so pretty.

  15. Wow, that goldwork is amazing! It takes it to a whole new level.

    Love the green iguana but oh my, that bookcase! I dread to think how long that would take but it’s absolutely magnificent.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

