SAL Update: Seashells #12

August 6, 2017 at 7:05 am | Posted in Embroidery | 14 Comments
Tags: ,

Another tiny bit of progress today! This is the second-to-last shell to embroider.

Previous version:

Seashells 2017-07-16

Today:

Seashells 2017-07-23

 

I learnt a new stitch today! The ridges of the little starfish shell are worked in colonial knots (link to the Youtube video tutorial I ended up using). After the first couple of tries, those were very easy to do.

Here are the other members of the SAL who are posting today. Make sure to check out their work, itโ€™s amazing: Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Lucy, Jess, Sue, Kate, Debbie Rose, Christina, Kathy, Margaret, Cindy, Helen, Steph, Linda, Catherine, Mary Margaret and Timothy.

If you would like to join in please contact Avis, who will give you full details.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love the little starfish. Colonial knots are much easier to do than French knots, aren’t they.

  2. what a cute little starfish ^^

  3. I hadn’t really noticed the starfish until this update, he’s adorable! This is a really lovely piece, hurray for progress!

  4. Beautiful! I think I’m going to have to try colonial knots!

  5. I’m happy to hear your assessment of colonial knots. I’ve always wanted to try them but have been intimidated by them. Your piece is beautiful.

  6. Your colonial knots are great. The piece is really coming together.

  7. Looking great ๐Ÿ™‚ Those tiny knots are beautiful.

  8. Love learning something new! This is coming along nicely.

  9. I love the knots! I have never been good at them so I might have to check out the YouTube video on it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I love how the stitch along gives people an opportunity to try new things and then share their results. This is such a beautiful piece, and I remember at the beginning how you were a bit uncertain about the goldwork. Now look at you go!

  11. Colonial knots….never heard of them, must check them up. They look nice!!!!

  12. You’re making great progress! It’s always good to learn a new stitch and then get to put it to use to really lock it into our memory banks.

  13. You are making great progress. It is alway fun to learn a new stitch.

  14. Oh gosh – I have only done Colonial Knots once and I most certainly did not find them easy. I eventually completed them – surrounded by very blue air lol. I do not think I have every cursed so much whilst trying out a new stitch.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

