The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook

February 26, 2017 at 1:17 pm | Posted in Fiber Art | 10 Comments
Tags:

Sometime last year, Anne Lawson and a few blogging friends came up with the idea to send one of her beautiful handmade sketchbooks around the world for artists of all kinds to add to it. I think I saw the call for volunteers over on Kate’s blog, and signed up immediately. This was just the kind of project I love to be a part of! Quite a few others from around the world liked the idea as well, and so the Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook was born.

The sketchbook has been making a very leisurely trip around the world since then. You can read all about its adventures here. So, back at the end of January, when it was actually winter around here, the sketchbook arrived at my place. What a treasure to see!

After some thinking, I ended up taking my cue from the time of year for creating my contribution. I love how the trees look in winter, with snow on the grounds and the leaves all gone to reveal the complex structure of the branches. So this is what jumped out of my brain into the sketchbook:

Winter Tree - Travelling Sketchbook

On the facing page I added a little letter to my fellow sisters about the inspiration for my addition:

Page spread - Travelling Sketchbook

I’ve now sent the sketchbook on to its next stop on its travels around the world, and I hope everybody is going to enjoy it as much as I did!

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. a gorgeous winter inspiration . . . can hear the snow crunching underfoot just looking at the page ^^

  2. What a priceless treasure this will be when it returns to its home.

  3. This is really quite an amazing project!

  4. It’s beautiful, and your design truly does evoke the cold and simplicity of the winter landscape. Thank you for a wonderful contribution!

  5. It’s Beautiful! I can’t wait to see it up close, to investigate how you created it. Am I right in thinking the trunk is embroidered?

    • Sure, I can tell a bit about what I did there … might be worth another post instead of hiding it in a comment.

      But basically, it’s machine embroidery with brown wool thread couched down for the trunk and the bigger branches

      • What a gorgeous winter scene. You’ve really captured the essence of those cold days along with the beauty and structure of the tree. I would love to read a follow up post on how you’ve accomplished this. Brava! Alys

  6. Oh yes, it’s wonderful! Do tell how you created the tree!

  7. What a lovely addition to the sketchbook – and I should have it in my hands any day now! I’m excited but a bit nervous too as I haven’t yet decided what I’m going to add.

  8. This is lovely, Constanze! 🌺🌺🌺


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

