A Year of Quilting

November 12, 2016 at 10:03 am | Posted in Patchwork | 5 Comments

Last weekend saw the yearly exhibition of my quilt group, where we show off everything we’ve created over the past year. Seeing everything hanging together, I’m always impressed by what everybody manages to do over the space of a year.

So I think this is a good time to look at my contribution for this year’s exhibition. Turns out, even though it doesn’t feel like that much, I did get things done.

First, the group projects. Every year, we make a quilt to raffle away for charity at the show. For quite a few years now, we decide on next year’s quilt during this year’s show, and then get together on the 6th of January to sew the top. It generally takes the rest of the year to add the borders, get the quilt professionally long-arm-quilted and add the binding. Here’s the result a lucky visitor won last weekend:

ausstellung2016_gemeinschaftsquilt

When the top was finished, we had one left-over block, which I used to make a pillow cover to go with the quilt:

ausstellung2016_gemeinschaftsquilt_kissen

Then there’s the yearly challenge project, where everybody gets the same constraints to make a 40*40 cm quilt. I already wrote about my contribution, and here’s the whole panel with everybody’s quilts:

ausstellung2016_challenge

And of course, I had my own quilts at the show.

Rainbow: Gravity

ausstellung2016_rainbowgravity

Looks like I haven’t posted a picture of the finished quilt yet, but there are a couple of relevant posts here and here.

Mexican Bird

ausstellung2016_mexicanbird

There’s a whole pile of previous posts regarding this project:

  1. Getting started
  2. Paint by Numbers
  3. Adding hand embroidery
  4. Some decision making
  5. Documenting the Project

Looks like I’ve also been a better blogger than I thought! I think it’s good to occasionally look back at the things that did get done, especially with a hobby where things generally proceed at a glacial pace. Hope you enjoyed the little visit to our show!

 

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. lovely quilt and the matching cushion cover is a great idea

  2. You’ve had a busy and productive year. Beautiful work!

  3. I love these kinds of posts, some beautiful work done by you and your fellow quilters.

  4. I just love the Gravity quilt, so unusual.

  5. […] mark the occasion, one of our members, who tends to end up with all the leftover material for our raffle quilts, collected all the leftovers, made 14 nice packages out of them, and we drew lots to choose from […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

