SAL-Update: Sneak Preview

October 16, 2016 at 2:47 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 7 Comments
Tags: ,

Sorry, can’t show you the promised finish because it didn’t happen. I’ve been traveling, and while I had the paisley pillow with me, I didn’t find any time to stitch. So, instead I’m going to show you a sneak preview of the project I’m hoping to tackle next:

seashell_preview

The project is called “Seashells”, and it’s supposed to be a goldwork project suitable for beginners, which is the reason I bought it at a Festival of Quilts back in the mists of time. Working with gold and silk threads is said to be finicky, and so I thought there would be extensive instructions coming with the project. Looking inside, I wasn’t impressed. In fact, I didn’t dare start the project just going on those instructions. So, back in Birmingham at another Festival of Quilts two years later, I bought the book on the right, which is part of a series of embroidery books published by the Royal School of Needlework. Those have a tendency to be very careful and thorough in their instructions.

Back home, somehow the book went onto the bookshelf, and the project stayed in the drawer. I found it in my quest to figure  out which of the things in that drawer are worth keeping and finishing. Now, it’s next on the list, and I’m still a bit scared!

Here are the other members of the SAL who are posting today. Make sure to check out their work, it’s amazing: Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Wendy, Lucy, Jess, Sue, Kate, Debbie Rose, Christina, SusanP and Kathy. Margaret is joining us for the first time, welcome!

If you would like to join in please contact Avis, who will give you full details.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Constanze, that makes two members of this group stretching their needlework skills! Thank you for the link, I am going to check out the Royal Academy. And, can’t wait to see those paisleys again next time. 🙂

    • The SCHOOL looks like an amazing place, with amazing classes, I am going to try and locate some of their books over here in the US.

  2. I love goldwork but haven’t been brave enough to tackle it myself. I’m looking forward to watching it grow 🙂

  3. You’re very brave, and I hope that if you survive the process and are happy with the results, you’ll share some of your thoughts in a tutorial? I love the Royal School of Needlwork books, but most of it is so far beyond either my skill or my patience that I tend to borrow them from the library for inspiration, not buy them!

  4. That looks an amazing project. I can’t wait to see the first update on it.

  5. Wow, it´s gonna be exciting to follow your work on this beautiful embroidery!

  6. Gold work, I’m excited to see this unfold I like seeing other stitching options.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

