After the Finish – Documenting the Project

September 18, 2016 at 7:19 am | Posted in Patchwork, Quilting | 3 Comments
Tags:

So, once a quilt is finished, in this case my Mexican Bird, the work tends to be almost, but not quite completely done. At that point of time my worktable tends to be a mess: left-over fabric, design sketches, photographs I’ve been working from, and samples all lying around. There’s way too much work in there to throw it all away, and those are the physical artefacts of making this particular quilt. So, what do I do with all that stuff?

First, the samples:

mexican_bird_samples

They still have raw edges that need to be cleaned up, which I take care of with zig-zagging around the whole thing. To put them away in a folder, I take a strip of strong cardboard, fold it in half and catch the sample beween the layers, attaching the cardboard to the fabric with enough space to punch a couple of holes in the cardboard:

mexican_bird_samples_finished

Now I collect all the paper, sorting out what I want to keep:

mexican_bird_papers

There’s the photograph I took, the original tracing on transparent paper, and the smaller copies of that I used for working out the colours and other details.

All of this goes into an A3 folder, where it lives happily ever after together with all the other finished projects.

mexican_bird_documentation

I’m now free to clean everything else away and start with whatever’s next!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do much the same with my more interesting and original quilts. I also keep all the experimental stuff, with lots of notes about what worked and what didn’t, and why…

  2. Beautiful, feathers are a favourite of mine. Thanks for sharing

  3. […] Documenting the Project […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

