A Finished Box and a new SAL Project

July 24, 2016 at 6:20 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 10 Comments
Tags:

Today I don’t need to pretend that the Rosebud Box is finished, because it finally is, and I can even show the inside!

rosebud_finish_open

And another view of both the box and the lid:

rosebud_finish_open_top

So, with that out of the way, I needed a new SAL project, and it’s quite different from the last one. Here’s the state it was in when I pulled it out of the WIP pile:indian_pillow_before

It’s a silk pillow cover with a printed embroidery pattern on it. I fell in love with it because of the paisley patterns when I found this in the remainder bin at a needlework shop in France a few years ago:

indian_pillow_package

For the price tag, I couldn’t resist. But of course there were reasons why it ended up so cheap. It’s not because of the material, which is nice. Have a look at some of the flowers in detail, you can see the silk shine:

indian_pillow_detail

But you can see the problems in this picture as well: The pattern is printed in dark ink and not very clean, so as much as I try, I won’t be able to hide all of the ink under stitching. In addition, it’s printed on a fully finished pillow cover, French seams and all, and you can see how close to the edges I’m stitching there. While I can use a frame in some places, in others I pretty much have to do without. And I have to navigate everything through the opening at the back, which is big enough for that, but still. I have thought of undoing the seams and putting them back together when finished, but with silk, I don’t think that would make anything better.

I still like the design enough that I’m going to finish it. It’s pretty simple stitching with just two thread colours, and a combination of satin stitch, stem stitch and some back stitch. The little motifs work up pretty quickly as well. Here’s where I’m today:

indian_pillow_20160724

Three more flowers done. Since this is a pretty portable project and vacation time is coming up, I hope to be able to show you substantial progress next time!

Here are the other members of the SAL who are posting today. Make sure to check out their work, it’s amazing: Avis, Claire, Gun, Carole, Wendy, Lucy, Jess, Sue, Kate, Debbie Rose, Christina, and there’s two additions to the list today: Welcome to SusanP and Kathy.

If you would like to join in please contact Avis, who will give you full details.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your box turned out so well. Excellent job! The cushion cover sounds very difficult to sew but I’ll watch with interest. The pattern is very pretty 🙂

  2. The box is charming! 😉

  3. The Rosebud box looks lovely. Congrats on the finish.
    Love the new project, and it’s coming on nicely despite it being a little tricky 🙂

  4. The box is wonderful, and this silk pillow looks like it will be a gem. I’ve never seen with silk thread, is it amazing? I would guess it glides through the fabric.

    • actually, the fabric is silk, the thread itself is your bog-standard 6-strand embroidery cotton. But the fabric does feel nice, and the combination handles well. I do have some silk embroidery thread, but I haven’t tried embroidering with silk yet (that may be the next project, though)

  5. your little box is lovely and “bon courage” with the newest project ^^

  6. The rosebud box is exquisite, beautifully embroidered and finished. I do admire your courage in taking on the pillow cover despite the difficulty; it would be quite enough to put me off. You’re making good progress, and I suppose it will be easier once that border is complete.

  7. I don’t even have the words to tell you how beautiful that rosebud box is, I just love it

  8. The box is so beautiful and your new project………I don´t have words for it! It is also so beautiful. Do finish it, in spite of all the hard work!

  9. your box is beautiful!

    The cushion sounds like a bit of a pain, but it should be worth it in the end!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

