Finished? – Not quite!

July 17, 2016 at 2:49 pm | Posted in Embroidery, Patchwork, Quilting | 5 Comments

My Mexican Bird project is progressing nicely. In fact, I took a picture a couple of weeks ago that I could easily sell as the finished quilt:

Mexican Bird with Binding

The machine quilting is finished, and a nice pink binding added, but I’m not quite there. If you look at the picture of the painting this is inspired by, there’s lots of white highlights:

Mexican_Bird_web

I’ve added the tiny feathery lines with machine quilting before binding the quilt, and I’m now working on the stronger lines in some of the leaves and the dots between the stems and the leaves:

Mexican_Bird_Embroidery1

The spiral on the leaf is worked in chain stitch, the dots are done in French knots. Here’s another area where you can see both:

Mexican_Bird_Embroidery2

While the effect is subtle when seen from a distance, I think it really makes a difference, here’s an area where the dots are still missing for comparison:

Mexican_Bird_before_Embroidery

I’m also thinking about highlighting the centres of the petals of the pink flowers, since they are a bit flat currently. Lots of TV stitching ahead!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my, this is so beautiful! Fantastic job đŸ˜€

  2. WOW! I count and measure, you are a fabric artist in the true sense.

  3. […] have finished embroidering the French knots on my Mexican Bird project, and was wondering if the flowers need a little extra as well. In the original painting, […]

  4. […] once a quilt is finished, in this case my Mexican Bird, the work tends to be almost, but not quite completely done. At that point of time my worktable […]

  5. […] Adding hand embroidery […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

