Challenge 2016 – Let’s go to the Fun Fair!

March 19, 2016 at 5:27 pm | Posted in Patchwork | 4 Comments

It’s a tradition by now that our quilt group does a challenge every year for our exhibition. Coming up with themes and fabrics doesn’t get any easier, so this year’s was a bit unusual. Here’s the fabrics we had to use, sorry for completely forgetting to take a “before” picture, so you’ll have to make do with the scraps:

Challenge2016_before

The light green fabric isn’t a traditional patchwork fabric, but a waxed cloth like you’d use for a tablecloth that you can clean easily. The red was selected as a contrast colour for this, and there was a big green bead as well.

With this as a starting point, the result was sure to be very different from last year’s challenge quilt:

Challenge2016_finished

The green fabric reminded me of one of those pretty balloons that are for sale at fun fairs, and from there I came to the idea to create an image of the fun fair by night. I used lots of beads and sequins to try and capture all the blinking lights. Here’s a detail of the Ferris Wheel, so you can see the beading a bit better:

Challenge2016_ferriswheel

As always, I’m trying to make those challenge quilts with materials I already own, as an added constraint. I was pretty good with this one, I think I only bought the dark green sequins specifically for this project.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the idea of a fair at night. The Ferris wheel is stunning.

  2. I’m a novice quilter/patchworker so love looking at others for inspiration. I just got a new machine, so am looking to learn about appliqué.

  3. […] my patchwork group uses a couple of days on the long Easter weekend for sewing. Having finished my challenge project for this year, I needed something new to take along. A couple of things came together to create the […]

  4. […] project, where everybody gets the same constraints to make a 40*40 cm quilt. I already wrote about my contribution, and here’s the whole panel with everybody’s […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

