First Finish in 2016

January 1, 2016 at 7:10 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 1 Comment

I’m starting into the new year with just a single resolution, but it is one that should influence quite a few areas in my life: I want to get better at actually finishing things. More often than not, projects around here get dropped when they’re 95% finished, instead of moving them out of the way so there’s space in my brain and my apartment for new things.

So, looking around my living room this morning, I saw an almost finished embroidery project that I aquired at the Festival of Quilts in Birmingham in 2014, I think. It was the Poppy Bank mini kit from Rowandean, which I bought because of its interesting use of additional fabric layers to influence the colouring of the background. It’s a tiny little thing at about 8.5 x 5.5 cm, and it was pretty much finished. About an hour of stitching later, here’s what I got:

Poppy Bank embroidery

All the stitching is finished, it just needs a frame or something. But for now, it’s one less thing lying around in my living room trying to get my attention. To many more finished projects in 2016!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely embroidery, now to framing it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

