Twenty Times Lace

April 15, 2015 at 10:19 am | Posted in Lace, Patchwork | 6 Comments
Tags:

To celebrate our twentieth exhibition this fall, my quilt group has come up with a special challenge project this year. As part of a fabric donation, we got a considerable length of lace which we decided would be the common material to use. In addition, the colour scheme used should be natural colours from beige to brown, making a nod to the 20th anniversery traditionally being the porcelain anniversary, and our lace having a beigish colour anyway. To top it off, the number 20 should play a role in some way, and this was the part that got me into trouble, since the size requirement of 40×40 cm hadn’t been changed.

Being interested in lace of all kinds, you can’t give me some lace and not have me think “I’m going to use 20 different pieces of lace here!” Collecting materials, I acquired my mom’s collection of mostly machine laces, looked which of my collection of handmade samples would be useful, and then tried to figure out how to put 20 different pieces into 40×40 cm. Turns out in order to not run out of space, I would have to keep things fairly simple. My original ideas where much more elaborate, with lengths of lace interweaving between the horizontal and vertical directions. But as is often the case, constraints ended up making it all better: the simple layout leaves space to show off the laces themselves, which was supposed to be the point, after all. So here’s the finished piece:

20 Times Lace - finished

And since it’s the laces themselves that are the interesting part of this piece, I’ll do a detailed writeup of what you’re seeing here in the following couple of posts. As a teaser, here’s the left side all numbered so we know what we’re talking about.

20 Times Lace left side

Which lace do you like best, and why? Which one would you like to know more about? Mind you, since some of it has been gifted to me, I may have not much information on it either.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. this is really gorgeous!

  2. I like best no. 2. Maybe because im am presently interested in crocheted lace and how to join it. Lovely page.

  3. […] promised, I want to talk a bit more about the different laces in my 2015 challenge piece. Here’s the numbered detail picture of the left side again for […]

  4. Hi –
    I’d like to correspond with you about the Bath Tatting Book. I’ve got a copy on my Kindle, and I’ve looked at the Project Gutenberg copies, but I can’t get a light enough version to be able to really see the tatting. a light went on for me when I saw your 3-D version of the flowers – now I’m going to go back to the text and try to do them. But I’m also wondering how you were able to get such clear illustrations – would you be kind enough to be able to share your source?
    Many thanks – Karey Solomon, Tatting Times, email threads@empacc.net

  5. […] With this as a starting point, the result was sure to be very different from last year’s challenge quilt: […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

