A Textile Jaunt through the Netherlands

June 9, 2014 at 7:17 am | Posted in Museums and Exhibitions | 1 Comment

I’ve been traveling again, and it has become a habit that I’m selecting my vacation destinations by the existence of textile goodies to see. Makes me end up in places with lots of other interesting things as well, so that tactic has served me well so far.

My goal this year was the Netherlands, and I definitely had lots of fun there. Despite being very touristy, Amsterdam is a city not to miss. I spent three days there and didn’t even scratch the surface, there’s so much to see. For textile enthusiasts, I recommend the charming Museum of Bags and Purses, located in one of Amsterdam’s beautiful houses along the canals.

Museums in the Netherlands

A totally different place is the Museum Catherijneconvent in Utrecht. Dedicated to Christian art and culture, there are many different artifacts to see, ranging from the medieval period to the present. Beautiful textiles are naturally a part of the exhibits. The museum is situated in a former convent building that gives a fitting frame for everything that’s inside:

Museum Catharijneconvent

Here’s the page from my travel sketchbook I created at the museum:

Catharijneconvent sketchbook page

The beautiful ticket is on the left and an initial from one of the manuscripts on display on the right. Prices are in Euros, and yes, museum tickets in the Netherlands tend towards the expensive.

On the last day of my vacation, I visited the Museum de Kantfabriek in Horst. Located in the building of a former lace factory, it now has displays of local history as well as a very nice collection of working lace machines, with an emphasis on machine-made bobbin lace, which they also sell through their shop:

Museum de Kantfabriek

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That lace sounds and looks divine.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

