2014 Challenge – Quilting and Finishing

February 2, 2014 at 7:20 pm | Posted in Patchwork | 3 Comments
Tags:

So, last week left us with a finished top. Next step: quilting. As I wanted to replicate the strong graphical pattern of the original fabric, I knew a simple black machine quilting line would not give me the effect needed to achieve this. So, I remembered a cone of ribbon yarn a friend gave me quite a few years ago:

Black Couching Thread

The yarn forms a narrow, flat strip, perfect for couching. I’ve done something like this in another challenge project, so I knew I could get the effect that I wanted using this. I consequently started to quilt my top, using a zigzag-stitch to sew down the thread. I added some additional lines, and then quilted all the lines of the pattern:

2014 Challenge - quilted

Here’s the back, so you can see the quilting pattern a bit better:

2014 Challenge - Quilting from Backside

And finally, here’s the finished project:

2014 Challenge - Finished!

Here’s a detail so you can see the quilting a bit better:

2014 Challenge - Detail

That was a fun challenge, for sure! I’m currently working on a couple of very different projects, so I think I’ll dive into one of those for next week’s post!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is fantastic! So unusual. I love the couching idea šŸ™‚

  2. Love this! šŸ™‚

  3. […] also used it in this year’s challenge quilt, and quite recently, to quilt the second incarnation of the arabic pattern from the quilt […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

