Quilt Group Challenge 2014 – The Challenge

January 19, 2014 at 7:22 pm | Posted in Patchwork, Quilting | Leave a comment

It has quickly become a tradition that my quilt group does a challenge each year for the next exhibition. During our yearly exhibition in November we’ll choose the parameters of the challenge, and then we have time till the next one rolls around to come up with something. This year, my challenge quilt was finished less than a month after the exhibition, I just couldn’t help myself. I even remembered to take a few pictures of the process, so I’ll share those with you during the next weeks.

But for today, the challenge. We each got a piece of this fabric:

Challenge Fabric 2014

The piece as shown is about 15*55 cm in size, which is all each of us got to work with, since the seller of the fabric didn’t have any more than that.

Additional parameters:

  • Finished size of quilt: 40*40 cm
  • Additional fabrics allowed: plain black, plain white and one additional colour.
  • The challenge fabric must be clearly visible on the front of the quilt.

I have to admit that I was very happy with the choice of fabric, and I was part of the small group that chose it. I’ll show you what I did with it next week. So, what would you do with it? Any ideas?

For inspiration, here’s some previous years’ challenge quilts of mine:

2013:

Fassett Challenge - Finished

2012:

Challenge 2012 - Finished

2011:

Rhododendron

2010:

1001 Nights full view

They’re quite different from each other, I think. So how will this year’s look like? Find out next week!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

