Patchwork the Slow Way

January 13, 2014 at 7:03 pm | Posted in Patchwork | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

Way back in 2010, I wrote about my samples using an islamic pattern taken from an object in the V&A collection. With the dark blue quilt long finished, I haven’t written anything about the paper pieced quilt since then. It has not been forgotten, but I did run into a couple of snags on the way. Apart from that, hand-sewing is slow, and this has been almost exclusively a travel project over the last years.

But I’m slowly getting somewhere now, so, progress!

Crumbling Beauty 1

This is the currently finished pieces laid out on a tentative background fabric. The big circle in the upper left is already assembled. Very, maybe too colourful for a whole quilt, and I’m running out of the yellow fabric as well. So, plan B is in order.

The tentative title of the piece is “Crumbling Beauty”, and the idea is to not cover the whole area of the quilt, but let the pattern gradually run out towards the lower right, with smaller pieces here and there left, while most of the tiles have already fallen off, like a mosaic that’s slowly falling apart. I’m thinking of a very dark blue for the background fabric, but haven’t been able to acquire just the right fabric till now.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is very beautiful!

  2. Ah, there it is! A real beauty – I like your idea about finishing the project.

  3. […] TV. And since I’m incapable of holding my hands still, the long-running hand-sewing project I posted about a few weeks ago is making more progress than expected. Getting some traction there was my official […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

