Quilt Group Challenge 2013

May 26, 2013 at 6:02 pm | Posted in Patchwork, Quilting | 2 Comments
Tags:

For a few years now, my quilt group has issued a challenge to make a small (40*40 cm) quilt with a common fabric (or theme) for our yearly exhibition in November. You can read about my contributions for previous years in their own posts: 2012, 2011, 2010.

This year’s fabric was chosen after quite a bit of discussion, but it won on the merits that it definitely isn’t boring, and we were sure to get a lot of radically different quilts:

Fassett Challenge Fabric

As usual, everybody got about 25*55 cm worth of fabric. On the left, that’s my piece, and on the right one I had borrowed to get more of the repeat. Those are big color repeats on the fabric, each individual piece shows only part of the repeat, and since my plans included extending the pattern into another fabric, I needed to trace the part of the pattern I didn’t have in my piece.

While a few of my quilting friends cut the fabric into very small pieces, so the flowers aren’t visible anymore and only the colour impression stays, I decided not to cut up the fabric at all. I wanted to show the pattern in as big a piece as possible. So, I transfered the tracing onto a piece of dark purple fabric:

Fassett - Tracing

then I ironed both fabrics onto some iron-on batting, so the pattern continues from one to the other:

Fassett - before quilting

Machine quilting the whole thing took quite a while, despite its relatively small size. I used an orange machine embroidery thread on the purple, and a rather subdued green on the Fassett fabric, since it definitely didn’t need more colour. Here’s the back of the finished quilt, where you can see all the quilting.

Fassett - Back of quilt

I added an orange strip as a border between the two areas, and finished the piece as a pillow cover, which I think would be a great use for it after the exhibition.

Fassett Challenge - Finished

I enjoyed making this piece, and I think it does show off the fabric nicely.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like how you created your quilt, so that it can be used as a cushion lateron. I love thos quilting lines.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

