2012 Challenge – Finished

January 26, 2013 at 7:18 pm | Posted in Patchwork | 4 Comments

It looks that after posting about the process of making last year’s challenge quilt, I never got around to post the finished object. So, let’s remedy that omission:

Challenge 2012 - Finished

From when we last saw that quilt, I finished the embroidery of the branches, adding finer stitches on top of the ones that were already there. Then I tried to make the transitions between the different fabrics less hard by painting the fabric. You can see the effect at the transition between the lightest brown and the grey.

To simulate the water, I layered a piece of light brown organza on top of most of the fabric. A few linear quilt lines keep it in place. A few beads at the edge of the organza empasize the irregularity of the waterline. While I like the way the reflections of the organza simulate the surface of the water, they do make a lot of the embroidery almost invisible. It’s turned out to be a very subtle quilt.

Here’s a detail:

Challenge 2012 - Detail

What I love about those challenges? They allow me to try out a lot of different things in a small format. The fabric for the 2013 challenge is totally different, and an idea is already underway about what to do with it. I’ll try to post a bit more often, so you can see what happens!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi,

    I would like to make a wedding sampler for my niece using Book of Kells illuminated letters. Could you please tell me where you purchased yours in Ireland? I want to do an A, an M and a J that are somewhat alike. I would really appreciate your reply.
    Cathe Makem Stock
    Drexel Hill PA

  2. Hi Cathe, you’re probably talking about the cross stitch kit from this post? I bought this one in Dublin at the museum shop of the Trinity Library. They had quite a few different patterns. The company that was making them seems to have either folded or changed their website, as I couldn’f find them anymore.

    Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

  3. […] exhibition in November. You can read about my contributions for previous years in their own posts: 2012, 2011, […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

