Take a Stitch Tuesday 2012: Week 12 – Barred Chain

March 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 2 Comments
Tags:

This week’s stitch was another one I wasn’t familiar with. Barred Chain and Alternating Barred Chain does sound exotic, doesn’t it? After learning that barred chain stitch consists of alternating chain and twisted chain stitches, I realized I hadn’t come across the latter either. Therefore I decided to work a row of twisted chain stitch first to get the stitch mechanics down. Turns out this was a good idea, since knowing exactly how to lay the thread so the stitch forms correctly took a few tries.

I then worked a row each of barred chain stitch and alternating barred chain stitch. The round motif below is my try to use barred chain stitch as a filling stitch. I started working in a tight spiral in the middle with the lightest colour of crewel wool using twisted chain stitch. I followed this with barred chain stitch when continuing the spiral with the middle and darkest shade of thread. The idea was to show something like a heavily filled flower using this technique. I’m not quite sure if I succeeded, though. But coopting linear stitches as filling stitches is an idea I’ll definitely hold on to.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nice work!

  2. Very very nice. Congratulations for a great job!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

