Take a Stitch Tuesday 2012: Week 11 – Whipped Wheel

March 17, 2012 at 4:31 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 1 Comment
Tags:

This week’s challenge was another fun one: Whipped Wheels. I thought they’d look good in a multicoloured yarn, so that’s what I grabbed first:

The different wheels share some spokes, so they’re all interconnected. The line below came from wondering what would happen if I’d use this as a line- or spacefilling stitch. I worked a row of cross stitches and whipped each of them. The result is a strong three-dimensional line that would for example work well as a border in counted work. Both of those samples are worked in Nr. 8 perle cotton.

Next I remembered that I had indeed used this stitch before. Have a look at a detail of my pomegranate crewel project:

The brown lines that divide the fruit are worked in a linear form of whipped wheel. Since I’ve long since given away that project and would like to have a sample of this, I grabbed some of the leftover wool and worked a line on my sampler:

After that was finished, I needed to make space on the sampler for next week’s adventure. So, before advancing the fabric on the frame, here’s a summary of weeks 1 to 11:

And for those people who are curious how the backside looks like:

I hope you’re having just as much fun reading along as I have stitching!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The wheels are just super and wonderful and also the “line”. Such good idea!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

