Take a Stitch Tuesday 2012: Week 6 – Chevron Stitch

February 12, 2012 at 2:20 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

TAST Week 6 is all about Chevron Stitch. This is another stitch I wasn’t really familiar with before, so naturally I started with the basic version:

Closing the stitch up seemed natural as a next step, and after I finished that row it occured to me that this would make a perfect couching stitch as well. I tried to insert the ribbon after the fact, which was not entirely successful, but you get the idea. The third row is similar in construction to double herringbone stitch. I like the trellis-like effect of this version.

The stitch dictionary entry for Chevron Stitch says that “since Chevron stitch has a strong geometrical construction it does not follow curves well unless they are very gradual.” I had to try nevertheless, of course, since I could easily imagine the closed version of the stitch as a good fill stitch for leaves and similar elongated forms. I like the effect of that double row of closed chevron stitch, although the curves do come out a little blocky. A thinner thread or a bigger motif would make this more effective for sure.

The last block at the right is one version of stacking the stitches up. I like how the two rows interlock so the stitches form a complete row.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very nice! Love the green and pink row!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

