Some Assembly Required

June 11, 2011 at 6:03 pm | Posted in Crochet | Leave a comment
Tags:

A few weeks ago, I needed to come up with something handmade for my niece’s birthday present in a hurry. She loves dogs, and I had a dog theme already going for her present, so why not include a crocheted dog? A few minutes of Ravelry search later, I came across this adorable creature (you can download the pattern for free from there).  Grabbing some leftover sockweight yarn and a hook, I set to work. Of course, since my last try at making amigurimi I had completely forgotten how fiddly these things tend to be, especially if they have a multitude of tiny ears and legs and paws. About a day later, after being repeatedly amazed that such a small project can suck up such a surprisingly big amount of time, I had this:

Yep, some assembly required, with all those loose ends needed for sewing. But after another hour or so, there was this:

My colours are quite a bit darker than the ones used in the pattern, so the eyes don’t really pop out. What I like most about this pattern is the realistic form of the body and back legs. It’s not just a barrel with a head and legs added, the body is shaped and the hind legs are constructed from two pieces. I’m happy with the result, and I hope the recipient likes it, too.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

