Mexican Stars

February 20, 2011 at 8:52 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 2 Comments
Tags:

I started the new year with the resolution to finish up some of the projects that have been lying around for years just waiting for that last little step to polish them off. The project I want to show you today has been hiding almost finished for about 10 years or so. I had embroidered those colourful pillows, and just needed to sew a back and put a filling in. I even bought the fabric I wanted to use and put it in a bag together with the tapestries. And then, nothing happened for a long time. Fast forward to January 2011 and our first long sewing weekend. I took quite a few projects to finish off, this one among them. Some cursing and a bit of expert help later (pesky zippers), they look all pretty:

I wanted to make firm pillows with hard edges, so I got 4 cm thick slabs of foam cut to the right size, and sewed the pillowcase accordingly. I really didn’t know how to put the zipper in so it’s sewable and will work for putting in the filling, but one of my friends from the patchwork group had the right idea: put it in the middle of the side panel!

The pattern is from Mary Norden’s Ethnic Needlepoint book, of which I have the German version. Incidentally, this pattern is on the title page there, and one of the reasons I picked this book up. Most of the patterns in that book appeal to me, and if my days had more hours, I’d probably do a few more.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hallo Constanze, dieses Projekt von dir habe ich noch nicht gesehen. Hast du es in Januar in einen unseren Treffen fertig genäht. Ich war glaube ich mal nicht da in Januar. Die Kissen sind sehr schön geworden. Du must eine ganz große menge an Kissen haben schätze ich so ;).

    liebe Grüße
    Monique

    • Hallo Monique,

      ja, das war eins meiner Projekte im Januar. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

