Holiday Cards

January 31, 2011 at 7:48 pm | Posted in Patchwork | Leave a comment
Tags:

Now that all the recipients have savely received their cards, I can share them with all of you. I took part in an international holiday card exchange and received five adresses from 5 different countries to send cards to. Being myself, I had to make the cards myself, and I set myself the additional challenge to make all of the cards from materials I already had in my appartment. No shopping allowed, except for the stamps!

So here are the results:

So here’s what I did: I got out my box of fabric scraps and went looking for suitable fabrics: reds and greens, blues and whites, and some holiday themed scraps. I then cut some simple forms from cardboard, like a circle for the bauble, triangles for the trees, a hexagon for the snowflake, and a simple candle. Using those forms as a template, I made a fabric covering for them. Some of them are pieced, others a single piece of fabric, and all are embellished with embroidery and beads. I then covered the cardboard forms with the fabric, using double-sided tape to stick the fabric edges to the back of the cardboard. Using more tape, I then glued the finished form to the card, adding details with small pieces of cardboard. For the leaves on the bauble, I used Vliesofix to glue 2 pieces of fabric together and stitched around the form I wanted before cutting it out. I then sewed the leaves to the bauble, adding sequins and beads for the berries.

I found this kind of card fun and simple to make. They don’t need much fabric, though, so my scrap box is as overflowing as ever.

Naturally this doesn’t only work with a holiday theme, so here’s a card I made for a friend’s birthday which was a few days after Christmas:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

