UK 2010—A Wealth of Textile Exhibits

December 6, 2009 at 3:02 pm | Posted in Museums and Exhibitions | Leave a comment

If I was ever looking for reasons to spend a few days in the UK next year for the third year in a row, I can certainly stop right here. In the last couple of days I’ve become aware of quite a few interesting exhibitions that will be shown around the UK next year,  and I’m already getting excited about seeing them. If you’re in need of a few excuses to go to the UK next year, here’s my list to help you out:

Embellished: The Art of Fabulous Fabrics is currently showing at the Harris Museum and Art Gallery in Preston. The exhibition will run throughout next year, and I hope I’ll be able to get there to see it.

The American Museum in Bath was one of my favourites on my tour last year. Their 2010 special exhibition is titled Classic American Quilts and will be running from 13 March to 31 October. Having been very impressed by the quilts in the permanent exhibits already, I’m looking forward to seeing the hidden gems that will be on display there.

And my favourite museum, London’s Victoria and Albert Museum, will be delving into 400 years of British quilt history with Quilts 1700-2010, running from 20 March to 4 July 2010. Check out the Curator’s Blog for some very interesting background information.

Time to start planning, surely. 🙂 If you know of any other interesting textile exhibits in the UK in the same timeframe as the ones above, I’d love to hear of them!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

