Crewel Embroidery Pomegranate—Finished!

October 4, 2009 at 1:17 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 3 Comments

You can see that I did enjoy myself working this project by the fact that it’s been finished and off the frame for a couple of weeks already, I just never got around to posting about it! So, here’s the picture:

Pomegranate Crewel Embroidery

I’m pretty pleased with this, altthough you can see in places that I still have to work on covering the background fabric completely, it’s showing through in too many places. Now all that’s left to do with this one is to find the right frame for it. To show you how generous the embroidery kit was with the materials, here’s the threads that I’ve got left over:

Left over Crewel Wool

To be honest, it doesn’t really look a lot less than what I started with. Now I only need another project to play with! Maybe I should take another close look at Jacobean Embroidery for inspiration?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the shading effect of the colours on the leaves and fruit.

    Those colours would be absolutely ideal for a Jacobean style piece, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. […] I remembered before I started on this exercise. I only remembered the Appleton wool left over from this project when I started to run out of ideas, and found the coton à broder hidden in the box of perle […]

  3. […] Next I remembered that I had indeed used this stitch before. Have a look at a detail of my pomegranate crewel project: […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

