Whole-cloth Pillow Cover

September 13, 2009 at 8:30 am | Posted in Patchwork, quilt | Leave a comment

Having taken a course in hand-quilting a while ago, I finished the course project, but let the craft slide afterwards, although I liked both the process and the result. But when I needed a portable project to take to quilt group this year, I remembered I have a couple of unused pillows in need of a cover lying around, and decided to make one up as a practice project for hand quilting. And I found out that hand quilting is definitely something that needs continuous practice:

Round Pillow Cover

The stitches in the middle are way bigger and more unregular than they should be, but I got back into the swing of things pretty quickly and am quite happy with the result. The motif is taken from this book, which is full of inspiration suitable for any craft you could be looking for a design for. Here’s a detail of the cover to show the quilting better:

Round Pillow Cover - Detail

It was a fun little project, and I already started the next hand quilting project, which will be another pillow cover, using fabric and a pattern I bought in Birmingham. But pictures of that will have to wait until I actually have something to show!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

