First Needlepoint Project

June 21, 2009 at 8:06 pm | Posted in Embroidery | Leave a comment
Tags:

Over at Nuts about Needlepoint, Janet has been asking people to tell the story around their first needlepoint project, so here’s mine:

First Cross Stitch Picture

This is a counted cross-stitch picture worked with a kind of thin wool. It came in a set, and I think it was the first relatively big “grown-up” project I’ve ever finished. I must have been somewhere around 13 or 14 at that time, and although I’d been doing quite a bit of needlework ever since starting school, I don’t think I finished a lot of things. I still have the embroidered needle-book I did in needlework class in 3rd grade somewhere, and the crocheted bag that was my first crochet project, also done in school. I use those, but they’re not the quality of project you can show off.

But this cross-stitch picture is different. As you can see, it’s nicely framed and behind glass, which my mom had done for me at a framing shop, and hangs in my appartment. While it’s not my usual style, there’s lots of good memories connected to it, and looking at it still brings a smile to my face.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

