Knitting Swatches

March 22, 2009 at 7:24 pm | Posted in Knitting | 1 Comment

Until now I’ve pretty much successfully avoided projects that needed to match a certain gauge to work, so I never knit any swatches before diving into the project proper. Now, while currently trying to finish up all those wintery projects so I’m prepared when spring finally comes around, I’m dreaming of summer knitting.

After some browsing of the magazines at my LYS I think I made a decision for a cardigan from the current Verena. The model I’m thinking about is the one on pages 6/7. Since this model isn’t available in my size and I want to use a different yarn, I needed to knit some swatches. I’m simply amazed how much difference needle size can make!

Swatches for Cabled Cardigan

The upper swatch is worke with a 3.5 mm needle, the lower one with a 4.0 mm. The lower one hits the target gauge precisely on number of stitches, although the row gauge is still off. But I think I can work around this. I like the way the yarn (Online Linie 214 Senta) knits up with the larger needles, so although I’m currently doing another swatch in a different yarn, I think I’ll go with this. I think I might hate myself for ever deciding to knit something with that many cables before finishing, though.

Now I just need to do the mathematics to make the model fit my size, which will be an adventure for sure. But nothing a few hours with a calculator can’t solve, I guess!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck with the maths. It’s not that hard now you know your gauge and how big you want the knitted pieces to be.

    I’m really surprised at the differences between your swatches. I’m the last in a long line of knitters, taught at a young age and practiced until I knew what needles size to use. I’ve never knitted a swatch.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

