Holiday Gifts

December 29, 2008 at 8:50 pm | Posted in Crochet, Knitting, Lace | Leave a comment

Now that the holidays are over and I’m slowly catching my breath, I’ll try to catch up with what’s going on in the fiber department. We left the Waves of Grain scarf still blocking on the sofa in the last installment. After taking it off and admiring it, I decided the gift wrapping needed to fit with the contents.

I started by making an Irish crochet flower from gold-coloured thread:

Irish Crochet Flower

The pattern for the flower is from Thérèse de Dillmont’s Irish Crochet Lace, which I found on the Weaving Digital Archives, which despite of its name has lots of goodies for all kinds of needlecraft. It’s the Third Wheel (fig. 17) on pages 9 and 10 of the book. Together with the red and gold wrapping paper it gives the present a festive look:

Waves of Grain - Wrapped

Since I couldn’t get any pictures in daylight before wrapping the present, I had to wait for it to be unwrapped again. My mom was really happy about this totally unexpected present, and I even managed to take a few pics in bright daylight over the holidays:

Waves of Grain

Waves of Grain - Detail

Of course there was more knitting going on over the holidays, but more on this in a later post.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

