Crocheted Bookworms

December 15, 2008 at 9:41 pm | Posted in Crochet | 2 Comments

While looking for something handmade to include in the Christmas presents for my nieces, I came across Michelle’s Bookworm Recipe. I immediately fell in love with those little fellows and had to make some, to live in the books for my nieces I’ve yet to buy. They work up really fast, it can’t have taken me much longer than 10 minutes to crochet one, and a few minutes more for finishing. They’re the perfect use for the odds and ends of variegated sock yarn I seem to be collecting.

Bookworms

While making those, I realized they might make the perfect project for a young child just learning to crochet. I remember the long lines of chain stitch that couldn’t really be used for anything my older niece produced one Christmas, but never really progressing beyond that. With this pattern, you could just have the child make the chain, and then work up the body yourself for the first few, giving instant success for everybody involved!

Since I think my nieces might want to make a few more of those for themselves or to give to friends, here’s what I did: After translating it into German, I printed the pattern out on a smallish piece of paper and mounted it on a piece of cardboard, so it doesn’t break easily. I included the picture of the bookworms in the corner. I’ll include this card in the present, and a copy will go to Grandma in case somebody needs help when I’m not around. It’s nice to see that at least one of my nieces seems to have inherited the fiber bug, and of course I’ll do everything to encourage her! 🙂

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love these, and what a great idea to tuck the instructions in with them. As you say, the perfect project for a beginner. I am saving this in my Inspirations folder!
    Jocelyn

  2. do you sell these!!! I love this idea!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

