Canvas Box — Stitching finished

December 7, 2008 at 3:48 pm | Posted in Embroidery | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I’ve finally finished stitching the side panel for the box I’m working following the Needlepoint Box Tutorial. I posted a picture of the lid earlier, but here it is again for comparison:

Lid for Needlepoint Box

I used the same stitches in a linear pattern for the side panel, repeating some to get the appropriate width:

Side Panel for Canvas Box

And here’s the joined panel, still without any filling:Side Panel for Canvas Box, joined

I already turned the seam allowances to the back, so this is roughly how the boxes’ sides will look like when finished. Using a really dense stitch for the borders will help to hide the seam allowances when I start to assemble the box, and it also gives a finished feel to the whole design. The stitch I used is described under the name of Long Arm Cross-Stich at the ANG website, but is known under different names, too.

Now I only need to find the time and energy to finish this up, which is not going to happen anytime soon with Christmas just round the corner. But I like what I have till now, so I’ll definitely finish it.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, it’s looking fantastic! I just love your stitches and colours. I can’t wait to see it finished – it’s going to be stunning.
    Jocelyn


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

