Textile Journey, Part 2: A Trip through England

August 2, 2008 at 8:18 am | Posted in Embroidery, Lace, Museums and Exhibitions, quilt | 1 Comment
York Minster

York Minster

After leaving Edinburgh behind, I headed for York. Not much there in the textile department (at least that’s what I thought), but the Minster is just mind-blowingly beautiful, and there are lots of interesting things to see around there. I took the picture from the gallery halfway up on the way to the tower. I spent quite a while exploring the Minster, including the exhibition in the undercroft, which is really well done. Inside the church I found an unexpected piece of needlework: An embroidery project done by the York Minster Broderer’s Guild, consisting of small individual panels showing different symbols. While the panels were executed in lots of different traditional embroidery techniques, they were all the same size and used the same thread for the background, tying them nicely together as a group. The individual panels were mounted on a larger piece of fabric, making a very nice wall-decoration. I think this is a very good method to have a group project with individual contributions that still work together.

The day before I went to York I received a message from a friend that a new Quilt Museum had opened in York. I would have loved to see that, but since I was in York from Monday to Tuesday, that unfortunately didn’t work out. Fighting with opening times to fit everything I wanted to see in was one ongoing theme of my week of travelling.

The next morning I took a train to Nottingham, hoping to be able to learn about the lace making history of that town. To my disappointment I soon found out that the Lace Museum in the historic Lace Market district of Nottingham doesn’t exist anymore. There’s a small lace shop near the castle which has a wall with a few pictures and some samples, but not much else in the city anymore.

Wollaton Hall, Nottingham

Wollaton Hall, Nottingham

So I decided to have a look into the Industrial Museum situated at Wollaton Hall, and I was richly rewarded for doing so. The Museum shows quite a few lace-making machines, and I’m always amazed at the ingenuity of those machines producing lace that remarkably looks like hand-made bobbin lace. The main house has a very interesting natural history exhibition, which is also well worth a look.

Lace Machine at the Industrial Museum at Wollaton Hall

Lace Machine at the Industrial Museum at Wollaton Hall

After that I still had some organizing to do to be able to see one of the things on my must-see list the following day: Hardwick Hall. I’ll give this one a post of its own, lets just say for now that I was absolutely blown away.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi, I used to demonstrate bobbin lace at the Lace museum in Nottingham about 15 years ago:-)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

