More Virtual Textile Exhibits

June 15, 2008 at 3:22 pm | Posted in General, Patchwork, quilt | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

A couple of weeks ago I posted about my explorations of textile exhibits in the UK. My planning has continued in the meantime, and I’ve added two more destinations to my definite “to see” list. Those have the advantage of both being situated in the same town, namely Bath. Apart from being a World Heritage site, Bath houses two museums of interest for textile lovers.

The Fashion Museum, which might be still known to some under its former name of “Museum of Costume”, shows a wide variety of costumes covering several centuries. The website has all the information you could want, some nice pictures of current and past exhibits, and even a couple of games that are more difficult than I thought at first look (under “Just for Fun”).

The second place I want to go to in Bath is the American Museum. While this year’s special exhibit about the Titanic isn’t my cup of tea, there are the Period Rooms showing fully furnished rooms in different American styles, and most importantly there’s the Textile Room with quilts and weavings from America. While it might feel funny to go to the UK to visit an American Museum, I guess you won’t easily find a comparable exhibit anywhere else in Europe.

On fiber news, I’m still trying to get the fractal quilt quilted, which proves not easy as the quilting thread and I can’t seem to cooperate for long stretches at a time. But I’m making progress and I still have hopes I’ll be able to finish it in time.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

