Koch Snowflake Quilt – A Beginning

February 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm | Posted in Patchwork, quilt | Leave a comment

I just realized that I haven’t posted anything in almost 3 weeks. That doesn’t mean nothing’s going on here, on the contrary. I’ve started working on the quilt I showed the basic design of in my last post, so there’s lots of sewing going on, just not much to see. But there are a few things I can show: before I decided to go ahead with this design, I did a small sample just to figure out how feasible it would be to actually sew this:

Koch Snowflake - Sample

The small red triangles have a side length of 1 cm, so the whole thing is pretty small, but it came out good enough to start sewing the big quilt, which means sewing lots of the small triangles:

Koch Snowflake - Basic Triangles

I don’t know how many of those were in there when I took the picture, but by now I’ve finished the 192 in this colour combination and did quite a few in the other combinations as well. It’s pretty mindless work, but there are a lot of those to sew. I’ll leave you with this, need to get back to the sewing machine if I want to have any chance to finish that quilt sometime before the deadline.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

