Framing Embroidery

December 9, 2007 at 8:01 pm | Posted in Embroidery | Leave a comment

Not so long ago I worked some little samples in Mountmellick embroidery, like this Dog Rose. I didn’t have any idea what to do with those at that time though. I really like the white-on-white embroidery and quickly dismissed any ideas of using it in a multicoloured project. So, with the holiday season coming up, I thought those samples would make cute gifts just as they are, if presented properly. So, here’s what I did:

I bought some small white picture frames. I then made a fabric postcard the size of the frame from the embroidery:

Dog rose postcard

The backing is the material sold for stiffening fabric postcards, no idea what it’s actually called, it’s a textile material that feels more like cardboard than fabric and is quite stable. I used batting in between to emphasize the three-dimensional effect of the embroidery. Cut all three layers the same size and use a dense zigzag-stitch to secure everything around the edges.

Then I took the glass out of the frame and inserted the picture:

Dog Rose - framed

The complete frame is just 9*13 cm in size, and I think the little flower fits nicely in there. The frame for the grapes is a bit bigger, and I’ll do it the same way as this one.

I’ve also finished my lacy Christmas postcard, but you’ll have to wait for this one a bit longer.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

