Counted Cross-Stitch: Book of Kells Initial

September 2, 2007 at 10:51 am | Posted in Embroidery | 1 Comment
Tags:

I finished the second pattern I brought home from Ireland today:

Letter R

The pattern is this one from Celtic Cross Stitch, who produce many more patterns of this kind. [Edit 2013/01/29: The website seems to have gone, and I couldn’t find a new one. What a pity!] What I really like about this pattern is that it is very attractive while only using 8 different colours. Usually the more attractive and interesting patterns use way too many colours, making the process more work than play, since you have to be very careful about which stitch is worked in which colour. I still have a project lying around somewhere that got stalled in the flower areas because every stitch is in a different colour and you don’t know anymore where to weave in the thread-ends.

Now the only thing that’s left to do is to find a nice frame for the project and hang it in a fitting place on the wall. I’m definitely keeping this one for myself to always remind me of a very nice holiday in Ireland.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love this design. I would love to do some of the designs form the Book of Kells. I went to see the exhibition of the Book of Kells when it was in Australia. I found the illuminations facinating.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

