I’m Weaving!

August 28, 2007 at 5:49 pm | Posted in Weaving | 1 Comment

After seeing some beautifully woven fabric in plain weave on Woven Thoughts, I decided I had to do some Weaving, too. Never having actually used my rigid heddle loom for a real project, I dug out some cheap yarn I have lying around for “just playing”, and warped the loom:

Woven Scarf - at the Beginning

The comb of this loom has 40 dents/10 cm, so the yarn needs to be quite thick to be able to do plainweave. But from the looks of it, my play yarn has just the right size. Here’s a close-up of the first few picks:

Woven Scarf - Close-up

The violet yarn at the start is waste yarn that will come out at the end, the dark pink being the first color of the weft. I’ll be using the same colors in the weft that I used in the warp, in the same order, with a large area of the off-white going in the middle. So far, I really like how this comes out, although I probably wouldn’t use those colours on a “real” project.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is looking good! I like the colour combination.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

