Appliquéd Pillow Cover – “You’ve Stolen My Heart!”

August 22, 2007 at 8:57 pm | Posted in Book Review, Patchwork, quilt | Leave a comment

Since I like to design my own projects, I like either technical or inspirational needlework books, but mostly not those that only consist of patterns to execute. The book I’m going to introduce today is a mixture of both the technical and the projects aspect.

Appliqué 12 Easy Ways by Elly Sienkiewicz teaches lots of different ways to do appliqué. The author uses a project with a simple heart pattern to introduce the different possibilities. The heart pattern is chosen because it has an inside and outside corner, straight lines and curves, so you get to exercise the different situations you come accross when doing appliqué. I didn’t really like the very traditional red and blue pattern the author presents, so here’s my version in a bit more colour:

Pillow Cover - Hearts

I think I already mentioned that I love to make pillow covers, as they are just the right size to try out something new. I used some of the fabric I’ve collected over time together with black to set it all off. Following the instructions, the hearts are worked in the different techniques, so you get to figure out what works best for you. I really like the book for its technical aspects. The patterns presented are generally very traditional in nature, so I’m not very likely to do any of them, but I think they would be great for somebody who wants to make traditional appliqué quilts.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

