Needlepoint Lace Tutorial – Part 5

June 26, 2007 at 7:34 pm | Posted in Lace, Tutorial | 2 Comments

I have a bit of a change of plan to report. In Part 3 of this tutorial, I said I would use the number 80 Anchor Crochet Cordonnet for the lace fillings. When having a closer look, I decided to use number 60 thread since I think the number 80 would have been too fine for this. I still intend to use the finer thread for buttonholing the outline, though.

I finally have some progress to show:

Maple Seeds Lace Fillings

I’ve worked the lace fillings for the first seed and wing. Most lace stitches are variations of the Buttonhole stitch. You can find a wealth of different lace stitches for example in the Encyclopedia of Needlework by Thérèse de Dillmont, which is available from Project Gutenberg. I’ve added a link to the Crafts Bookshelf in the sidebar, where you can find more needlework books. The different lace stitches are described in the chapter on Irish Lace in the Encyclopedia. The numbers of the stitches I give below are from the “Lace Stitches” section.

The stitch used for the seed is a single buttonhole stitch worked very densely in one direction, then the thread is laid back to the start of the row and the second row of stitches worked over both the previous row and the thread. This is theNineteenth Lace Stitch in the Encyclopedia. The rows are worked starting from the center of the seed. I’ll do the second seed starting in the same manner to get a symmetrical result. What I did with the wing in something quite similar to theTwentyseventh Lace Stitch . I started in the lower right corner and worked a row of single buttonhole stitches, leading the thread back going through each stitch. For the loose row, I worked a twisted buttonhole stitch into every second stitch of the previous row, again leading the thread back to the beginning. Then I started the next row of dense buttonhole stitches, working two stitches into every stitch of the previous row. It helps to use the couching stitches of the outline to make sure the lace stitches stay where they belong.

In part 6 I’m going to show some in-progress pictures of working the fillings, so you can get a better impression of how it works.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i will loved to have a conversetcion with you. and to have the posibility to publish in your name some exercis than you make in a free magatcim for students of diferents lace.
    thanks
    please send me somthing

  2. […] Next time around I’ll show you how the lace stitches are worked. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

