More needlepoint lace

February 24, 2007 at 7:39 pm | Posted in Lace | 6 Comments

I finally got around to take pictures of some of my older lace projects, so here’s a nice one:Bird in Needlepoint Lace

I found the motive for this in the exhibition catalogue for an exhibition of Art Noveau Textiles. It is an Asian (or Asia-inspired) motive that was on a fabric in a patchwork wall hanging. What I like about this is that the whole motive is inscribed in a circle, making a closed piece without any background. And it was a nice excuse to use different lace filling stitches on the different parts of the wings.


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How big is this piece? Do you have any for sale?

    • This has a diameter of about 13 cm. As for sale, I don’t think I could put a price tag on any of the needle lace I make, the time investment is quite big. I couldn’t even estimate how many hours that one took.

  2. This is really beautiful. How on earth did I miss this until now? Your stitching is so neat and regular.

  3. So elegant! I do love this one.

  4. Can You please tell me where you got the pattern from and can you still get it.

    • Sorry, no pattern for this one. I drafted it after an illustration in a book I have.

Leave a Reply

Blog at | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

