Cardwoven belt

October 21, 2006 at 7:07 pm | Posted in Weaving | Leave a comment

Cardwoven belt

This is a belt I wove for use with some of my summer pants, after I found it impossible to find a fabric belt in any other colours than loud and screaming (pink anyone?). The yarn is 100% cotton and quite heavy, which made this a reasonably quick project. Except for the finishing, of course, which took a couple of months lying around and considering ideas on just how to finish it. While looking for a buckle or some such I found those bamboo rings, and I kind of like the effect.  The warp on the other end is just cut off, and I don’t really know what to do with them. There’s just too much of them for any knotting or braiding to work. Since the weft is secured nicely, I might just leave them as they are, maybe a bit shorter. I’ll have time to consider this now, since summer is definitely over.

Some technical details: The pattern was created with a simple 8forward/8backward turning sequence and two adjacent holes of each colour in the pattern cards. The belt ended up a bit smaller than expected since I was running out of warp yarn.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

