Window Quilt

May 29, 2006 at 7:41 pm | Posted in Patchwork | Leave a comment

Jugendstil window

This is what I gave my mom for her 65th birthday. The image is taken from an Art Noveau window I have from a calendar. I attached the “glass” pieces to a foundation using Vliesofix, then ironed on the black bias strips and appliqued them by machine. The finished piece is mounted on a wooden frame, which was actually quite easy to do. And I didn’t have to quilt the whole thing – so it’s much faster too than doing the batting, backing, quilting, binding… thing.

I really like how the colours of this piece came out. I already had a lot of fabric that lends itself easily to glass imitation and bought some more for this project. The effect is better than I expected.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

