First picture?!

May 20, 2006 at 9:11 pm | Posted in Patchwork | 1 Comment

My first big quilt

Ok, I actually managed to insert a picture into this blog. What you see, is my first (and only) bed-sized quilt to date. It’s a distorted log cabin pattern, the instructions came from Patchwork- und Quiltjournal Nummer 65, November/Dezember 2002. The fabric was the cheapest all cotton fabric I could find at the time, it’s “Ditte” from IKEA, and they still sell that stuff, although in completely different colorways. I really like the effect the colours have, and the quilt lies on my bed every day. I really enjoy looking at it, although it’s been lying there since 2003.

Lessons learned from this project?

  • The most difficult job was machine-quilting the whole thing. I finally managed, but not without a fight. This is the fact that stops me from making big quilts, since I like to be able to handle the whole thing under the sewing machine.
  • This project was made from 120 blocks, and they definitely were not the same size. To make it possible to join the blocks correctly I had to trim them, and although inside the block not all of them are the same, this gives a very good effect in the finished quilt.

That’s all for the moment, I just read in my notes that it actually took me only 5 months to finish the whole project. I wouldn’t have thought that!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Of course, they’re right. I wrote my first post on May 17, 2006. This was followed by the first quilting post on May 20 of the same year. You can read the rest of the story by delving into the archives […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

